National Pledge

Be a Man. Respect Women.

Be a Man. Respect Women.

For 12 years, once every week, taking this oath was a ritual in my and thousands of other students school life.

India is my country and all Indians are my brothers and sisters.
I love my country and I am proud of its rich and varied heritage.
I shall always strive to be worthy of it.I shall give my parents, teachers and all elders respect and treat everyone with courtesy.
To my country and my people, I pledge my devotion.
In their well-being and prosperity alone, lies my happiness.

But as a nation we hit the rock bottom today. This makes me realize that we never truly understood what this pledge meant. The words being spoken were just part of a mundane routine and failed to register an impact in the way we function as a society. But all is not lost. In this utter grief, I take heart in the fact that the youth of this country wants to change. The protests against all odds, the candle light vigils and the uproar in the social media, they mean something. They show the willingness of this generation to put those words in action. In this I take heart and I see hope. As responsible citizens, let us all be a part of the change that we want to see.

Leave a Reply

