A. R. Rahman, live

Last week I had the opportunity to attend a A.R. Rahman’s event, in live. Yeah I know, it was super amazing. I was psyched the whole day before, and planned really well to be there on time. Considering this event was early in the morning, I did have to plan :).

ARR Q&A

This was mostly a Q&A with Rahman and in the end, he performed. Yay! And it was not Jai Ho. Yay, yay! (I don’t think it was his best score). He performed the title score of Bombay. Yay^3! This tune is one of my all time favorites. I find this tune very soothing. If you don’t remember it or want to hear it again, here you go…

He did look tired though (he had a concert the night before and mentioned he slept at 4.30 am), but was calm, fuuny, talked about how comes up with his tunes, the school he founded in Chennai, his inspiration, and he also mentioned that while did know how to sing in Hindi, he couldn’t speak the language. Surprised?

ARR performing

Overall the event was pretty mellow, and I was super excited just to be able to see him live. Him performing was a bonus. My excitement was actually palpable, and it took me took me non-trivial amount of time to shake off that buzz after the event.

If you are interested you can watch the entire talk here. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

