LinkedIn for Students

While I am a bit surprised it got hunted over a Sunday evening, I think LinkedIn might have just launched something really cool – LinkedIn Students, a site centered around helping college students find jobs.

Sure there are hundreds of sites which already do that, LinkedIn included, and these are especially useful when you know what you are looking for. But more so often we don’t know what the hell we want, so having a chance to peek through the buffet before binge eating is totally helpful. I mean there are so many instances when I wanted to eat Bajji but instead ended up eating Biryani. Not that I am complaining, but I am digressing. Coming back to talking about things not in the context of food, a ComSci major may not always want a Software Engineer Internship/Job. They might prefer a UX/PM role or something else. You never know, and even if you did, not a lot of us know how to go about representing ourselves and doing courses/projects to get what we want. Apart from giving advice on how do the same, this site lets you search for a position based on type, role, location, field, company and even alumni. Cool huh?

I played with the site for a bit last night, and I already like it. That’s probably evident considering I am writing this post, but do check it out. They also have apps for Android and iOS. So if you are a student who is using a Windows phone, maybe its time to switch over to the Android side :)?

PS: I am not sure if it is a thing yet, but I have a few invites for hunting/commenting access on Product Hunt. In case you want one, drop me a message with your twitter handle.

Leave a Reply

