Sand dune biking

Last week on Saturday, we were lazying on the beach when one of us realized it was getting late. We rushed towards a few stores and all of them told us that they were about to close and were not signing up any more people. We drove 4 hours to get here, and it would’ve been disappointing to not do the one thing we planned to. As we were discussing our options, one of us spotted another store. We already were expecting the same answer, but still went inside.

As we got in, the receptionist at the desk asked us if we were there for renting ATVs (All Terrain Vehicles). When we said yes, her response was ‘Guys why are you so late. You need to hurry up. We are about to close.’ We quickly sign up and in a short time were on the beach getting on our rides. Couple of us preferred the fully automatic ATVs while another friend and I, we choose the geared ones.

Getting started was the trickiest part. I kept having this feeling that the ATV would fall down, so I tried placing my foot down in order to balance it, then realizing that it has not 2 but 4 wheels. The wheels were firmly rooted in the sand, and handling the direction in which the ATV went was hard. The bike kept going in circles. It was taking forever to head forward.

The whole experience until then was kind of funny. Driving an ATV on the beach felt like how I was leading my life. No plan, not a clue where it was headed, going about in circles again and again, getting stuck and unable to move forward. Frustrating, but the symbolism of it all kind of made me chuckle.

While I was still trying to figure out the ATV, Jaggu drove towards me, tells me that the trails are lot more fun and drives away. Sure it was an automatic, but he figured out the ATV pretty quickly. In order to keep up with him, I change gears, lean to my left and pump up the gas. What I was doing seemed to be working. The ATV was picking up speed and finally moving forward. I change gears again, hit on the accelerator and the ground starts moving much faster and I could control the vehicle better. Irony, here more speed meant more control. When I finally catch up to him on the dunes, the sight was interesting. On one side there was the beach, with caravans and RVs lined on it. On the other side there was sand, till my eyes could see; bikes and ATVs, distant specks on the dessert on the beach, moving in a rhythm like ants. It was inspiring to watch.

At one point when we were jumping across dunes, Jaggu got his ATV stuck in sand. Clicked this picture then. Pretty cool, right?

IMG_20160625_190620

Jaggu dirt biking

After some time, I noticed a few of the riders go deeper into the horizon. Curious I took the same path. The terrain was much rougher here and the ride was pretty bumpy. You could ride the ATV standing along this path. I must have rode over a mile, when in the distance I saw a bunch of ATV’s parked at a spot. It was overlooking the sunset on the beach. I drove till that spot, parked, leaned over my ride, and then blankly stared in to the horizon watching the sunset, probably for a few minutes. Then I got back and got along a couple other friends to that spot. It was pretty nice. As we realized our hour was almost up, we raced our way back to the trailer.

Before we got started, an hour seemed like a stretch. Couldn’t believe how quickly the time went by. Apart from beautiful scenic spots, and it being on the beach, sand dune biking was a good dose of adrenaline rush. Looking forward to riding one again soon.

IMG_20160625_190021 (1)

One of the views when we were on the trails

IMG-20160625-WA0010

Instructor telling us how to use an ATV

IMG_20160625_190312

This was after I got a hang of the ATV. Explains the smile 🙂

IMG_20160625_192232

Sunset!

 

 

Leave a Reply

